Graduate Academic Advising

What would you like help with?

Coursework advising and approvals

For coursework advising and approvals prior to research supervisor being identified, please contact your Specialty Advisor

Environmental Fluid Mechanics Dr. Gregory A. Lawrence lawrence@civil.ubc.ca 
Environmental Systems Engineering Dr. Pierre Bérubé berube@civil.ubc.ca 
Geo-Environmental Engineering Dr. Loretta Li lli@civil.ubc.ca 
Geotechnical Engineering Dr. Jonathan Fannin jonathan.fannin@ubc.ca 
Hydrotechnical Engineering Dr. Barbara J. Lence lence@civil.ubc.ca 
Project & Construction Management Dr. Omar Swei oaswei@civil.ubc.ca 
Structural & Earthquake Engineering Dr. Terje Haukaas terje@civil.ubc.ca 
Structural Materials Engineering Dr. Nemkumar Banthia banthia@civil.ubc.ca 
Transportation Engineering Dr. Amy Kimamykim@civil.ubc.ca

Course Planning 

You are advised to establish and maintain a coursework plan to assure your timely completion of all coursework requirements.  In order to do so, download a coursework plan form here.  Please bring your updated plan with you whenever you meet your advisor. 

[MASc and PhD Students] For coursework advising and approvals and all aspects of the research thesis, please contact your Research Supervisor.

For issues that cannot be resolved with your Specialty Advisor or Research Supervisor, contact Dr. Taiebat, Graduate Advisor. Please submit all requests to Graduate Support for administrative screening and not to Dr. Taiebat directly. 

Submission of forms and other administrative duties

For submission of all forms, all administrative requests, and all Graduate Advisor approval requests, please contact:

Kevin Veltheer Graduate Student SupportKevin Veltheer
Graduate Student Support
Room: CEME 2005
E: gradsupport@civil.ubc.ca
T: 604-827-5824

Academic accommodation and concession

Students facing academic difficulties with respect to completion of courses and to progress in the program may be able to rely on two kinds of approach and associated resources as follows: 

  • Academic Accommodation.  Students with a disability may apply for academic accommodation through the Centre for Accessibility
  • Academic Concession.  Otherwise, students may be able to be granted academic concession under certain circumstances.